Cram logo icon overlay - decoration only

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors have the task of ensuring CRAM pursues its Mission by adhering to recognised governance, risk and financial management principles that underpin strategic growth objectives. The Directors on the Board are all volunteers and represent a range of skills and experience suited to the governance of the organisation.

There are two sub-committees of the Board; the Audit and Risk committee and the HR and Remuneration  committee, and an advisory committee, the Practices Review Committee

Patrick Roberts OAM - Chair

patrick roberts

Patrick joined the Board in 2000 and became Chair shortly afterwards. He was awarded an OAM in 2017 for services to the community including disability sector and Rotary, where he was a Past District Governor. Patrick retired from the workforce following a career in the banking industry where he held senior roles in Communications, Chief Manager Investment Advisory Services and Regional Manager Banking.  Patrick is a member of Cram’s HR & Remuneration and the Risk and Audit committees.


Linda Wright - Deputy Chair

2017 04 06 21.33.31

Linda joined the Board in 2009 and in 2016 took on the role of Deputy Chair. A lawyer specialising in Family Law, Linda is a partner of her law firm based in Wollongong. Linda has been on the management committee of the Illawarra Legal Centre for 23 years, is a Past President of the Wollongong and District Law Society and is involved with the Executive Committee of the Collaborative Family Lawyers Illawarra and Shoalhaven, as well as having held positions on two school P & C committees. Linda is the Chair of Cram’s Practice Review committee.


Chris Townend

chris townend

Chris joined the Board in 2000 and has been Deputy Chair for a number of years as well as Chair of various subcommittees. In his professionallife Chris held senior roles in industrial relations until retirement in 2015. He has been an active volunteer in the community including roles as Chairman of both Dapto and Warrawong Skillshare and on various Parents and Friends Committees in schools. Chris is the Chair of Cram’s HR & Remuneration committee.


John Chaplin OAM

john chaplin

John joined the Board in 2002 having been involved in disability as a founding member of Flagstaff Disability services where he also served as Chair. Formerly a corporate lawyer, including with BHP, John has held a number of community roles including Past Chair of Trustees for Wollongong City Gallery, Chair of World Archery Board of Justice and Ethics and volunteer with Archery Australia. John is a member of Cram’s HR & Remuneration committee.


Dr Melinda Williams

melinda williams

Melinda joined the Board in 2014 and brings a background in nursing and public health. Melinda has a PhD in Public Health and is currently employed in the not-for-profit sector. Melinda is a Member of the Illawarra Shoalhaven Practice Research Network Strategic Advisory Group and is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Melinda is a member of Cram’s Practice Review committee.


Dale Cairney

dale cairney

Dale joined the Board in 2015 and brings with him expertise in financial management and quality governance. Dale is currently the Deputy CEO of a not-for-profit organisation, is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and of CPA Australia. Dale’s community roles include on the Board of WEA Illawarra and various past roles chairing community events with the Cancer Council, including 3 years Illawarra Relay for Life.


Bill Dowson

 2017 03 28 03.21.47Bill joined the Board in 2017 and brings significant business and entrepreneurial experience, having both developed and acquired small businesses in the hardware, self-storage and document management sectors. Bill’s community roles have included Salvation Army Red Shield Appeal, Rotary, Illawarra Sports Stadium Trust, Illawarra basketball and Illawarra Academy of Sport. Bill is a member of Cram’s Risk & Audit committee.